Delightfully Chaotic

Do you have the keys?

on April 5, 2007

OMG y’all will not believe what happened to me Saturday.  OK well David and I decided to go to the skating rink to see his Grandma who just got out of surgery. *His Aunt owns the rink and his Grandma and Mom work there on the weekends.*  So we get the kids ready and are heading out the door; he’s ahead of me with both of the kids and before I lock the door I ask twice, I repeat twice if he had the keys.  His answer both times is yes; so I lock the door and as I reach the car he tells me he doesn’t have the keys.  What?!?  At first I think he’s joking, but of course he’s not.  And do you think I have my keys in my huge purse-nope I took them out before I walked out the door.

Now the real fun begins because David and I are walking around the house checking every window and door.  Meanwhile the kids are sitting in the car and the oldest is wondering why we haven’t left yet.  Luckily I had my phone to see if my mil had a spare key or what time her or my fil was getting off of work.  David and tried everything we could think of to unlock the door, you know credit card, bobby pin.  Yeah none of those things worked.  Here we are for about an hour trying to see what we can do with out breaking a window and we had nothing.  So we broke our kitchen window, but get this it was a double pane window and neither one of us knew that.  Can you believe that we had to break two windows.  I am the lucky one who gets to crawl through and then he and I had the pleasure of cleaning up the mess afterwards.  But the evening got better because we ended up going to the rink anyway and we all had a really good time.


One response to “Do you have the keys?

  1. Krista says:

    I am laughing my head off at this post. This happens several times a month at my house. my husbands email address when I met him was “losemykeys@aol”. I have been thinking that I need to have a key to my house made for every neighbor down our street! LOL

Leave a comment